The English Wife

The English Wife

Author: Adrienne Chinn

Format: Paperback

Pages: 448

ISBN: 9780008412401

Publisher: One More Chapter

Release Date: February 16, 2021

Description du Livre

Two women, a world apart.
A secret waiting to be discovered…
‘An emotive and engaging read’ Rosanna Ley

‘Rich, evocative and utterly immersive, this beautifully written book swept me away’ Jenny Ashcroft

‘Evocative, sensual and authentic’ Jane Johnson

VE Day 1945: As victory bells ring out across the country, war bride Ellie Burgess’ happiness is overshadowed by grief. Her charismatic Newfoundlander husband Thomas is still missing in action.
 
Until a letter arrives explaining Thomas is back at home on the other side of the Atlantic recovering from his injuries.

Travelling to a distant country to live with a man she barely knows is the bravest thing Ellie has ever had to do. But nothing can prepare her for the harsh realities of her new home…

September 11th 2001: Sophie Parry is on a plane to New York on the most tragic day in the city’s history. While the world watches the news in horror, Sophie’s flight is rerouted to a tiny town in Newfoundland and she is forced to seek refuge with her estranged aunt Ellie.
 
Determined to discover what it was that forced her family apart all those years ago, newfound secrets may change her life forever…
 
This is a timeless story of love, sacrifice and resilience perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley, Lorna Cook and Gill Paul.

What readers are saying about The English Wife:
‘An emotive and engaging read’ Rosanna Ley

‘Rich, evocative and utterly immersive, this beautifully written book swept me away’ Jenny Ashcroft

“An epic tale of family, tragedy love… I highly recommend this book!!” Books, Wine, Cats 5*

“The sense of suspense makes this story a page turner! Highly recommend this book, especially if you’re looking for a WWII era book without all of the historical stuff” To Read is to Breathe, 5*

“I couldn’t put it down. It was not your typical historical novel I think that’s what I loved about it. Great book!” Dabbookclub, 4*

“A book that drew me in from the first pages! The characters come alive, they’re so well written. Fans of historic fiction will love this story. An author to follow” Consumer review, 4*

Commentaires
Gradasso Martel
Leur Miracle de Noel était le meilleur livre que j’ai jamais acheter. Leur Miracle de Noel a fait exactement ce que tu as dit qu’il faisait.
Alphonse Ratté
Je tiens à vous remercier personnellement pour vos livres exceptionnels. C’est vraiment merveilleux.
Blanchefle Morneau
Enfin, je reçois cet ebook, merci pour tous ces miracles de Noël que je peux obtenir maintenant!
Émilie Aucoin
Mes amis sont tellement fous qu’ils ne savent pas comment j’ai tous les ebook de haute qualité qu’ils n’ont pas!
Andrée Bédard
Je vous recommanderai à mes collègues. Leur miracle de Noël est les livres les plus précieux que nous ayons jamais achetés. Je serais perdu sans ça. Je suis complète ment époustouflé.
Livres Similaires
Grown Ups

Grown Ups

By Marian Keyes
Big Summer

Big Summer

By Jennifer Weiner
I'll Be Seeing You

I'll Be Seeing You

By Margaret Mayhew